Museum Memories…

Lets face it, those Facebook memory notifications are utterly mortifying. Is there anything more cringe-inducing than being reminded of your recent past? That hair, those clothes and what is even going on there?! I’m sure I’m not alone.

This morning however,  when I checked my Facebook, an orange banner’d picture that, the app reassured me, only I could see reminded me of how I got my very first (paid) museum job. 

So naturally, I shared it again. And here it is again…

two people photoshopped on to an image of the colossal statue of Ramesses II

Hanging from a pharaoh’s beard really did help get me a job!

Although I see Ramessess II quite a bit now, we’re not as close as we were when this picture was taken. It’s sad how friendships can fade over time, like photos left in the sunlight and unlike photos left lying around on Facebook.

Seeing this picture made me feel all nostalgic, which I suppose is the point. It also made me reflect on the last five years. (Gods, has it been five years?!). I’m still working at the British Museum, and I’m still in the Samsung Digital Discovery Centre. It is one of those jobs that I really do enjoy -how can you not like playing with cool tech and sharing fun facts about the wonderful things in the museum?

Seeing this picture also reminded me just how important my friends are to me, and how much of an impact they have had on me. Not just personally, but professionally too. The girl in the picture is my friend Julia. She was the one who took me to a Members’ evening at the British Museum. One of the things to do was an activity in the Samsung Centre, it sounded fun (and our first choice, a lecture I think, was fully booked) so down the stairs we went…

Julia and I are naturally chatty people, and naturally, we got chatting to Shelley, the woman running the activity in the SDDC about how much we love the museum, about archaeology, about how cool the activity was.

“We’re actually looking for facilitators at the moment,” Shelley told us.

Julia turns to me and says “That sounds like it’s perfect for you! You *have* to apply!”

It transpired that the deadline was the very next day.

I’ve never filled out a job application so quickly!

Needless to say, the rest is history, and I’m still there. I’m a Supervisor in the Centre  now, so in the next five years I’ll be, what? Director of the museum? 😉

If you’re looking for advice on getting a job in a museum, I recommend reading Mark Carnall’s blog on How to apply for museum jobs.

One response to “Museum Memories…

  1. Pingback: Acropolis now! | Jack's Adventures in Museum Land·

Leave a Reply

