I Love Museums because…

Why I love museums

Why I love museums

On the surface this looks like it would be an easy question to answer, especially for someone like me who clearly loves museums. The question is being posed to everyone on the internet by CultureThemes, who are challenging people to finish the sentence in 140 characters or less on Twitter, as a way to launch a new wesite: ILoveMuseums.com.

The campaign is to show government at local and national levels how much museums mean to people and to celebrate the public support for our cultural institutions. The website has all the details about the I Love Museums campaign as well as details on how to get involved.

But back to the question at hand, I Love Museums because….

I think that’s something that is going to take more than 140 characters to answer, that’s for sure.

Like many others, I find museums a place of inspiration and wonder. They can act as a mirror to show people for what they are, and that fundamentally, we don’t really change. They have an incredible ability to make something as mundane as a letter of complaint into something extraordinary.

Don’t believe me? Check this out.

But museums are more than history; I love museums because they can be about anything. Absolutely anything at all. I’ve been able to explore subjects like marzipan, fictional Victorian detectives and even a famous escapologist.

It’s not just the oddities of life that museums can help us explore. They can help us with the darkest moments in our collective history. The House of Terror in Budapest is an excellent example of this, despite its fairground-horror name. Dark days also show the brightest light of human nature, and places such as the Museum Blindenwerkstatt Otto Weidt can help tell those stories.

I guess you could say I Love Museums because… they help us explore what it is to be human.

But I also love museums because I work in them. It’s the kind of job where you really have to love what you do.

Working in museum education allows me to continue the great work that museums do. I might not be doing all the cool curatorial stuff in the back rooms with ancient artefacts, but I get to be the person who helps deliver those “WOW THAT’S AMAZING” moments and those are priceless.

One response to “I Love Museums because…

  1. Pingback: Some of the best #ILoveMuseums | Jack's Adventures in Museum Land·

Leave a Reply

