Nominating for the Family Friendly Museum Award

It’s every blogger’s dream to have their words published in a national newspaper, and on Sunday that happened to me!

Just take a look at this:

A mention in the Sunday Telegraph

A mention in the Sunday Telegraph

But how did my words end up in the Sunday Telegraph?

The other day I nominated a museum for Kids in Museums’ prestigious Family Friendly Museum award. For such a momentous nod, I had to think carefully about which museum I thought was worthy of the mantle. Naturally, not just any museum would do.

I could have gone for one of the museums that I work in, but thought, “No, that’s just me being bigheaded.” Besides, I didn’t want to tread on any official toes. Instead I thought about the last time I had a truly great time in a museum, the last time I went somewhere that really went the extra mile to make sure that visitors (of all ages) could understand what was on display, and if they couldn’t they could ask an expert.

Of course, I nominated the magical Museum of Classical Archaeology. It’s a tiny, oft overlooked site in the museum-filled city of Cambridge and I thought that the team’s hard work deserved highlighting. It also has views like this…

Statues from the Museum of Classical Archaeology

Statues from the Museum of Classical Archaeology

Friendly and beautiful; it really is the whole package.

If you think that the Museum of Classical Archaeology should win the Family Friendly Museum Award, email award@kidsinmuseums.org.uk and tell them why! You can do the same for any other museum that you think should win – just make sure you tell them in as much detail as you can!

 

 

Leave a Reply

