New Beginnings

You might have been wondering why this blog has been rather quite over the last month and a bit. Had I given up on  Museum Adventuring? Had I taken a wrong turn in some museum stores and perished? Had I lost access to the internet?

The answer is no to all of the above.

I was in fact job hunting. Oh, the joy of a job-hunt. You see, as is the case with many jobs in the Cultural Sector in the UK, positions aren’t always permanent as they’re sometimes based on a certain amount of funding for a certain amount of time. I was aware of this when I started working on Show Me so it didn’t come as a huge surprise.

So, after three years at Culture24 working on things such as; an Olympic project for the BBC, managing the network and bringing the award winning educational site Show Me to the masses, I’m bidding adieu to the team to start a new and exciting role just along the coast at Towner, in Eastbourne.

(Just so you know, I’m planning to keep my job at the British Museum. It’s a zero-hour contract and I like both the work I do there as well as the flexibility of the hours.)

My new role will officially be Learning and Participation Assistant and, naturally, it’s in keeping with my Museum Education background but I’m really looking forward to building on these skills and developing Towner’s educational offer.

We’re already hitting the ground running, as they have put me on a course to explore ways of nurturing and encouraging creativity in Early Years, which has filled me with all sorts of plans, schemes and ideas.

So, so long C24, it’s been a blast! And here’s to a new start at Towner.

Oh and in case you’re wondering, Show Me won an Interactive Media Award at the end of 2014, it was a fantastic bit of news to end the year on. 

 

4 responses to “New Beginnings

  1. Pingback: Art Relay: From Workshop to Exhibition | Jack's Adventures in Museum Land·

Leave a Reply

