MOMA PS1

This is my last Museum Adventure  from New York City. For now at least – who knows, maybe I’ll be back there one day. Like my previous adventure, in which I went to a museum in a Freight Elevator, this one also takes place in an usual space: a former school building (hence PS1, which follows the American tradition of number public schools. A note for UK readers, US public schools are akin to the local comp.).

MOMA PS1

MOMA PS1

You can see the original school building, it is the red brick behind the concrete.

This gallery wasn’t on my initial list of places to visit. mainly because I feel more at home with mummies and dinosaurs and history than I do with modern art. It’s not that I don’t like it, it’s more to do with I don’t really know how to talk about it. Sometimes, depending on the piece, I’m not really sure what’s going on. I’m looking at you, strange installation mixed-media works. Are you a film? A dance? A picture? Everything?

It can get very overwhelming very quickly, or the opposite can happen.

You’re probably wondering why I came here. It was because this repurposed former school turned modern art gallery was spoken of in such high terms by the museum-going New Yorkers I spoke to on the trip that I felt like I had to go and visit.

This was my favourite piece:

The Flat Side of the Knife, by Samara Golden

The Flat Side of the Knife, by Samara Golden

I enjoyed the use of mirrors and the tricks played with perspective. I enjoyed the bonkers ‘crazy stairs’ aspect of it, like something by M C Escher. The longer I looked at it, the more I couldn’t quite tell which way was up, down or sideways.

And that’s where I have to cut this adventure off, as we had to leave sharpish to catch our plane.

Leave a Reply

