Museum of Liverpool

You might have noticed that I’ve been on my travels a lot recently. Not only did I return to Cambridge and explore the Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology as well as the Polar Museum, but I managed to venture North to the former dock-city and cultural capital of Liverpool.

Alas, this epic adventure was for business not for pleasure, but the Museum Adventurer and his colleagues managed to find a spare half an hour to visit a Liverpudlian museum: the Museum of Liverpool. It only opened in 2011, and it still has that new museum smell. Only joking, but it was still very shiny and new.

The Museum of Liverpool

The Museum of Liverpool

The inside had a very Guggenheim-y feel to it, you know?

Spiral staircase in the Museum of Liverpool

Spiral staircase in the Museum of Liverpool

The Museum of Liverpool, as you might expect, tells the story of Liverpool and its people. It uses one of my favourite media to help it accomplish this task: the museum dummy. Check these out:

A Viking dummy at the Museum of Liverpool

A Viking dummy at the Museum of Liverpool

These ones had me doing a double-take. Very convincing? Non?

A couple of Museum Dummies on a train at the Museum of Liverpool

A couple of Museum Dummies on a train at the Museum of Liverpool

Although not strictly a museum dummy, the Museum of Liverpool also had a reconstruction of the face of the earliest skeleton found in Merseyside. I do love a facial reconstruction, like this one of Richard III. Here is Merseyside’s oldest resident, before and after (or after and before…?)

Merseyside's oldest skull

Merseyside’s oldest skull

The reconstructed face of Merseyside's oldest resident

The reconstructed face of Merseyside’s oldest resident

Museum Selfie

I seem to be turning this into quite the habit, don’t I? Well, here I am wearing a Brodie Helmet from the First World War. It suits me, no?

Museum Adventurer: Great War Edition

Museum Adventurer: Great War Edition

I wish we had more time to explore the collection, but alas, it was closing time. I think I might have to return to Liverpool very soon and see the rest of the place and maybe a few more museums…

3 responses to “Museum of Liverpool

  1. Pingback: Here’s MOOCing at you, kid | Jack's Adventures in Museum Land·

Leave a Reply

