The Secret Door to Enlightenment

Those of who read this blog regularly know that I work at the British Museum.  It has inspired me to write many a blog post (this one is still my favourite). No matter how many hours, days, weeks, months, and indeed years I spend toiling away there, the museum always finds a way to surprise me. It might be the discovery of an object I didn’t know was there, sometimes it’s finding a gallery that’s rarely open actually being open.

The other day, I saw something that blew my mind.

I had to track it down for myself to see if it really did exists. If you want to find it yourself, just follow these simple instructions…

First of all, track down this (rather fetching) statue of Apollo.

Statue of Apollo from the British Museum

Statue of Apollo from the British Museum

(Totally would)

Next to that you’ll see a Hands-on Desk, usually manned by a volunteer. You’ll also see this Egyptian stele in front of a bookcase.

Egyptian Stele in front of a bookcase.

Egyptian Stele in front of a bookcase.

Look closely at that bookcase. You’ll see some things that a bookcase shouldn’t really have; things like a doorbell. It makes me happy that a Secret Door has a Secret Doorbell.Look more closely, and you’ll see that none of the spines have anything written on them!

The secret door bell

The secret door bell

Blank books

Blank books

Naturally I tried to see what was behind it, but alas, it was locked. This begs the inevitable question… where does this mysterious door lead?

I bet that never gets old!

 

7 responses to “The Secret Door to Enlightenment

  1. Pingback: Behind the Scenes at the Royal Observatory | Jack's Adventures in Museum Land·

  2. Pingback: Sutton Hoo at the British Museum | Jack's Adventures in Museum Land·

  3. Pingback: Museums and the Movies: Scooby Doo 2: Monsters Unleashed | Jack's Adventures in Museum Land·

  4. Pingback: Inside Trajan’s Column | Jack's Adventures in Museum Land·

  5. Pingback: Inside Trajan’s Column | Jack's Adventures in Museum Land·

Leave a Reply

