Bauhaus: Haus of Bau

The Bauhaus movement was founded in 1919, and it is regarded as the 20th Century’s most influential design movement. Although it’s not too far off celebrating its centenary it still looks really fresh and modern. In fact, the Bauhaus Archiv (or to use its other name: Museum fur Gestaltung) looks very much like a very classy IKEA outlet.

“Form follows function”

The credo of the Bauhaus movement is pleasing alliterative.

Being linguistically curious – which hopefully might one day turn into linguistic competence in a language other than English- I thought I’d see if “Bauhaus” translated into anything.

To Google Translate I went!

“Bauhaus” as a word only returned a translation of “Bauhaus” in English. This, needless to say, was less than helpful. So I tried a different tack; knowing that the Germans are fond of their compound nouns I thought I’d separate the word up.

“Bau,” it transpires, translates as “Construction” and “haus” unsurprisingly means “house.” I’ll let you put the word together.

Anyway, let’s get on with the adventure!

The Museum’s interesting architecture looks, to me at least, not unlike a budget version of the Sydney Opera House (or should that be Sydney Opera Haus?). It was designed by Walter Gropius, the founder of Bauhaus.

Bauhaus Archiv

Bauhaus Archiv

Usually I don’t really go to design museums, but the Other Half is a Graphic Designer and this was his pick. I suppose it’s only fair he gets to pick at least one! Together we ventured through the well-designed doors; he confidently, me with somewhat more trepidation. He treated me to the admission fee and we began a very well designed journey through the history of Bauhaus.

Bauhaus Archiv Door

Bauhaus Archiv Door

There was a quiet, almost reverent atmosphere in the museum, which was punctuated by a lady working at a loom. The clackclakcclack-ing helped to make the textiles on the wall more than just the textiles on the wall. You could imagine someone working hard, actually crafting these pieces rather than some machine mass-producing them.

Wait, no, we weren’t in IKEA. I had to remind myself a few times, but when I realised there were no Billy Bookshelves I was finally convinced.

I would have a bit more to say if I could take pictures inside the museum, but alas, no pictures were allowed. The gift shop was nice though. As a special treat, here is an early #BadgeOfTheWeek: you can learn a bit more about them over at The Museum of Museum Badges.

Bauhaus Badges

Bauhaus Badges

Lovely.

3 responses to “Bauhaus: Haus of Bau

  1. Pingback: Pergamonmuseum: Altars and Gates | Jack's Adventures in Museum Land·

  2. Pingback: Things! Unimaginable Amounts of Things! Everywhere! | Jack's Adventures in Museum Land·

Leave a Reply

