Sleepover at the British Museum

‘Oh, I’ve had such a curious dream!’ exclaimed Alice as she woke up, wondering if her adventures were really real or if they were all in her imagination.

I had a similar experience on Sunday morning. I awoke from not-the-best night’s sleep I’ve ever had, wondering what all those fuzzy images of darkened Pharaohs could possibly mean. Yawning, stretching and rubbing the sleep out of my eyes I prepared to face the brand new day. When I finally got my bearings those odd visions made sense; I had been sleeping in the Egyptian galleries of the British Museum!

Before you pick up the phone to call the authorities, give me a chance to explain!

I was not overcome by a bout of narcolepsy whilst engaged in a daring museum heist, rather, I was there in my capacity as a member of staff. Why was I working overnight? Well, dear reader(s), I was working at a sleepover for the British Museum’s Young Friends.

The Museum runs six of these events over the year, and despite working there for about a year now, this is the first one I’ve had the chance to be a part of. It was, without a doubt, a really good night. It was amazing to explore the museum at night time. The kids seemed to enjoy it too, as they got to make their own Egyptian amulets -and cast spells over them, and create their own Greek Temple. They even got to hear some Egyptian stories as mummies watched on.

I think what surprised me the most was the reaction to the Chinese Ribbon Dance workshop; the group I was working with contained it’s fair share of teenaged boys who, let’s face it, aren’t typically interested in this sort of thing. Instead of throwing a teenage strop, they got involved and took part. One even said it was his favourite part of the evening!

This was a ‘High Lights’ sleepover, which meant that we looked at some of the best bits of the museum’s collection, but the next one (on September 1st) will tie-in with the Shakespeare’s Restless World exhibition.

If you liked this post, you might enjoy the British Museum themed badges at the Museum of Museum Badges.

One response to “Sleepover at the British Museum

  1. Pingback: 11 Questions to a Museum Blogger on Museum Blog Day | Jack's Adventures in Museum Land·

Leave a Reply

