London’s Secret Museums: The Grant Museum of Zoology

I really love the word ‘Zoology.’ It has all the best bits of the alphabet in it; all the letters that just make words fun, and somehow, it manages to have both too few and too many vowels at the same time. Have a go saying it… it is just fun isn’t it?

You can tell I’m not a scientist by training, can’t you?

Never mind that, I’m here to learn and to take you along for the ride.

Rather than have some front of house staff do the greetings, the Grant Museum has a selection of seriously stupendous specimens handle the first impressions. The antlers are truly majestic, and the jar of moles are a bit unsettling, but it would have been nice to see a friendly face to warn us about some of the displays.

Don’t get me wrong, I mean, who doesn’t love stuff in jars? Sometimes, a heads-up would be nice. The Grant wasn’t as creepy as the Hunterian, nothing can be as creepy as the Hunterian.

What was nice was the sense of humour The Grant has with some of its labelling. Take this for example:

“Not a Brain” clear and effective museum labelling

NOT A BRAIN. Genius.

However, as I bent down to take the picture my back went out. I hobbled to the nearest seat and found these happy chappies grinning down at me.

Skeletons at The Grant

Thanks guys.

Unfortunately I had to cut my visit short, but I’ll try to be back soon.

If you enjoyed this post and would like to see some badges from the UCL Museums, you can over at the Museum of Museum Badges. 

3 responses to “London’s Secret Museums: The Grant Museum of Zoology

  1. Pingback: Honey, I Shrunk the Museum | Jack's Adventures in Museum Land·

Leave a Reply

