How Clinging to a Pharaoh’s Beard Helped Me Find Gainful Employment

Once you fall down a rabbit hole, eventually you have to reach the bottom.  When Alice reached the bottom of hers she “jumped up on her feet in a moment: she looked up, but it was all dark overhead; before her was another long passage.”

Once I reached the bottom of my rabbit hole, I too dusted myself off and observed my surroundings. It wasn’t long before I met a traveller from an antique land who helped me on my way…

Before I begin telling you of this adventure in Museum-land, you need to know that for my birthday this year my friends from university treated me to a membership at the British Museum; a gift that has been worth its weight in gold in more ways than one.  

Part of the handsome perks of membership-status are regular Members’ Open Evenings.

As every intrepid explorer needs a glamorous assistant, my friend Julia accompanied me to the event. Being Classicists, we were drawn to a lecture on the history and significance of Persepolis in the ancient world, but fate had something else in mind.

Little did we know that by the end of the night we would find ourselves dangling from the beard of Ramses II.

“‘Bringing the world’s history and cultures to life through advanced technology’ that sounds interesting,” suggested Julia.

Down, down, down we went to the Samsung Digital Discovery Centre, nestled under the Great Court. There we were greeted by Shelley, who gave a thoroughly fascinating introduction to the work that goes on in the belly of the beast that is the British Museum.

Before we knew it, Julia and I found ourselves acquainted with Ramses II, also known as Ozymandias: king of kings.

 

His name is Ozymandias, King of Kings: look on his works and despair

 

Despite the two of us hanging from his beard, there was no frown and wrinkled lip nor did a sneer of cold command, his sculptor seemed to have caught him in a good mood. In fact he seemed quite content with the situation.

After our thrilling adventure to ancient Egypt, we began chatting to Shelley. I mentioned I was looking for work in museums, she mentioned there was a vacancy…and you’re treated to three guesses as to where I work now.

4 responses to “How Clinging to a Pharaoh’s Beard Helped Me Find Gainful Employment

  1. Pingback: A New Advenutre | Adventures in Museum Education·

  2. Pingback: Museum Memories… | Jack's Adventures in Museum Land·

Leave a Reply

